SIGABRT at startup (missing material?)

Found a bug? Report it here.

Moderator: PPS-Leaders

User avatar
Nowic
Thanathon, God of the lower Planes
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Zürich
Contact:

SIGABRT at startup (missing material?)

Post by Nowic » Sat May 31, 2008 6:52 pm

I can't run orxonox on any of my systems. It crashes at startup on my Ubuntu 8.04 and Debian Lenny (Testing) machine. Trunk rev 1492, Data rev 1763
Do I need a special revision of the data repo?

Code: Select all

Texture: bar2a.tga: Loading 1 faces(PF_A8R8G8B8,800x80x1) with 5 hardware generated mipmaps from Image. Internal format is PF_A8R8G8B8,1024x128x1.
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'Ogre::ItemIdentityException'
  what():  OGRE EXCEPTION(5:ItemIdentityException): Could not find material Orxonox/NavMarker in OverlayElement::setMaterialName at OgreOverlayElement.cpp (line 330)
Trying to restore XAutoKeyRepeat
recieved signal SIGABRT
try to write backtrace to file orxonox.log
Unregistering ResourceManager for type BspLevel
*-*-* OGRE Shutdown

Code: Select all

=======================================================
= time: Sat May 31 20:45:21 2008
=======================================================
Program received signal SIGABRT, Aborted.
[Switching to Thread 0xb6fd66c0 (LWP 28928)]
0xb7f7a410 in __kernel_vsyscall ()
(gdb) 
#0  0xb7f7a410 in __kernel_vsyscall ()
#1  0xb7410085 in raise () from /lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6
#2  0xb7411b55 in abort () from /lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6
#3  0xb7634480 in __gnu_cxx::__verbose_terminate_handler ()
   from /usr/include/boost/../../lib/libstdc++.so.6
#4  0xb7631d05 in ?? () from /usr/include/boost/../../lib/libstdc++.so.6
#5  0xb7631d42 in std::terminate ()
   from /usr/include/boost/../../lib/libstdc++.so.6
#6  0xb7631e6a in __cxa_throw ()
   from /usr/include/boost/../../lib/libstdc++.so.6
#7  0xb7d59a3c in Ogre::OverlayElement::setMaterialName ()
   from /usr/include/boost/../../lib/libOgreMain.so.14
#8  0xb7d6e574 in Ogre::PanelOverlayElement::setMaterialName ()
   from /usr/include/boost/../../lib/libOgreMain.so.14
#9  0x080ea470 in orxonox::RadarOverlayElement::init (this=0x85ff328, 
    leftRel=0.5, topRel=0.899999976, dimRel=0.200000003, container=0x858d7d0)
    at /home/simon/scratch/orxonox/trunk/src/orxonox/hud/RadarOverlayElement.cc:59
#10 0x080e607b in HUD (this=0x84c7a78, zoom=1)
    at /home/simon/scratch/orxonox/trunk/src/orxonox/hud/HUD.cc:91
#11 0x080d679a in orxonox::Orxonox::loadPlayground (this=0x8166f20)
    at /home/simon/scratch/orxonox/trunk/src/orxonox/Orxonox.cc:350
#12 0x080d6b71 in orxonox::Orxonox::start (this=0x8166f20)
    at /home/simon/scratch/orxonox/trunk/src/orxonox/Orxonox.cc:309
#13 0x080d533d in main (argc=1, argv=0xbfbc2054)
    at /home/simon/scratch/orxonox/trunk/src/orxonox/Main.cc:88
(gdb) 
Kill the program being debugged? (y or n) [answered Y; input not from terminal]
(gdb) 
"I've always lived cheaply. I live like a student, basically. And I like that because it means that money is not telling me what to do. I can do what I think is important for me to do. It freed me to do what seemed worth doing." -- Richard Stallman

User avatar
x3n
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Posts: 810
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:40 pm
Contact:

Post by x3n » Sat May 31, 2008 7:58 pm

did you checked out the media repository from https://svn.orxonox.net/data/Media ?
if you checked it out to another directory than "Media", you must set the following entry in bin/orxonox.ini to the right path:

Code: Select all

[GraphicsEngine]
dataPath_=../../Media/
And you should use the network branch, https://svn.orxonox.net/orxonox/branches/network - old branches or the trunk might only run with older versions of media (~revision 1700)
Fabian 'x3n' Landau, Orxonox developer

User avatar
Nowic
Thanathon, God of the lower Planes
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Zürich
Contact:

Post by Nowic » Sat May 31, 2008 10:26 pm

Yes I did. And it seems to load a lot of stuff before it crashes.

Now I checked out revision 1700 of the data repository, but like that it just misses an other material.

Output: http://nopaste.org/p/aIhRuueaM

Please document the dependencies of the trunk :-/
"I've always lived cheaply. I live like a student, basically. And I like that because it means that money is not telling me what to do. I can do what I think is important for me to do. It freed me to do what seemed worth doing." -- Richard Stallman

User avatar
x3n
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Posts: 810
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:40 pm
Contact:

Post by x3n » Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:01 pm

I can't reproduce this error. But you should really use the network branch, because our trunk is outdated. The presentation used the network branch too. Or you wait some hours, we're right about to merge network back to trunk. After merging, orxonox will work with the latest revision of Media. Sorry for the trouble. Same procedure as every semester. ;)
Fabian 'x3n' Landau, Orxonox developer

User avatar
Nowic
Thanathon, God of the lower Planes
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Zürich
Contact:

Post by Nowic » Sun Jun 01, 2008 6:50 pm

Ok, I'll wait until the trunk is up to date.
"I've always lived cheaply. I live like a student, basically. And I like that because it means that money is not telling me what to do. I can do what I think is important for me to do. It freed me to do what seemed worth doing." -- Richard Stallman

User avatar
x3n
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Posts: 810
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:40 pm
Contact:

Post by x3n » Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:16 pm

Trunk should work now.
Fabian 'x3n' Landau, Orxonox developer

User avatar
Nowic
Thanathon, God of the lower Planes
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Zürich
Contact:

Post by Nowic » Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:12 pm

Nice, it works now.

But two problems remain:

1. cmake complains that boost is missing, but it compiles. I have version 1.34.1 and I cleared the cache twice.

Code: Select all

simon@simonpc:~/Projekte/orxonox/trunk$ cmake .
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc -- works
-- Check size of void*
-- Check size of void* - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++ -- works
-- checking for one of the modules 'OGRE;/usr/pack/ogre-1.4.5-sd/i686-debian-linux3.1/lib/pkgconfig/OGRE.pc'
--   found OGRE, version 1.4.6
--   libraries : OgreMain from /usr/lib
--   includes  : /usr/include/OGRE
-- Found enet: /usr/lib/libenet.so
-- Found BoostLibrary: thread
-- Found BoostLibrary: filesystem
-- Boost was not found. Set the Boost_INCLUDE_DIR cmake cache entry to the directory containing the boost include files. E.g /usr/local/include/boost-1_33_1 or c:\boost\include\boost-1_33_1
-- OpenAL was found.
-- FreeAlut was found
-- Ogg was found.
-- Vorbis was found.
-- Found ZLIB: /usr/lib/libz.so
-- Found Lua: /usr/lib/liblua5.1.so
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /home/simon/Projekte/orxonox/trunk
simon@simonpc:~/Projekte/orxonox/trunk$
2. No input devices are working (no mouse, no keyboard). Do I have to bind them manually?
"I've always lived cheaply. I live like a student, basically. And I like that because it means that money is not telling me what to do. I can do what I think is important for me to do. It freed me to do what seemed worth doing." -- Richard Stallman

User avatar
x3n
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Posts: 810
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:40 pm
Contact:

Post by x3n » Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:30 am

I think problem 1 was solved today.
Problem 2 is known but not yet fixed, try to copy the content of def_keybindings.ini into keybindings.ini.
Fabian 'x3n' Landau, Orxonox developer

User avatar
1337
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:59 am

Post by 1337 » Thu Jun 05, 2008 6:27 pm

Error number one with finding boost has been fixed in the current trunk.

However I'm starting to feel bad about the second one. Does it occur too, when you delete keybindings.ini and start the game then? It should then load the configValues from def_keybindings.ini and store them into keybindings.ini
But that obviously doesn't seem to work.

It's likely a problem with the configValues or with the KeyBinder, but I couldn't image where, since it actually has nothing to do with the binding, but rather with an empty file....
http://www.xkcd.com/
A webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language.

User avatar
Nowic
Thanathon, God of the lower Planes
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Zürich
Contact:

Post by Nowic » Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:56 pm

Yes deleting keybindings.ini solves it! I even have 10fps with the free drivers. Yeah! Should there be any sounds or music?
"I've always lived cheaply. I live like a student, basically. And I like that because it means that money is not telling me what to do. I can do what I think is important for me to do. It freed me to do what seemed worth doing." -- Richard Stallman

User avatar
x3n
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Posts: 810
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:40 pm
Contact:

Post by x3n » Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:35 pm

Yes, there should be music, but there isn't :D
Our soundengine is still in development, there are some problems on several systems, except tardis and beni's notebook. ;)
Fabian 'x3n' Landau, Orxonox developer

User avatar
beni
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Posts: 949
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 9:15 am
Location: Zurich
Contact:

Post by beni » Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:35 pm

Even there it's not perfect!!

See this post for the sound bug and for fixes. Right now we (I) work on a new audio object for the even easier use of the audio.
"I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite forum on the internet."

User avatar
1337
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:59 am

Post by 1337 » Fri Jun 06, 2008 6:14 pm

But where the heck does the empty keybindings.ini come from? I don't believe in ghosts..., so there must be a piece of code that creates such a file when orxonox is started the first time...
But I can't imagine where and it doesn't occur on my box at all.
http://www.xkcd.com/
A webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language.

User avatar
Nowic
Thanathon, God of the lower Planes
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Zürich
Contact:

Post by Nowic » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:16 am

@1337: Can you recommend a cheap exorcist so I can get rid of my ghosts? ;)

To solve the data trunk mismatch, I think it would be a good idea to use svn 'tags'. With tags, users could always check out data/tag/trunk and orxonox/trunk and it should work. (as long as you keep the tag updated)

http://svnbook.red-bean.com/en/1.1/ch04s06.html

Tagging would also ensure that old versions can be accessed easily. e.g. /data/tag/0.1.0 and /orxonox/tag/0.1.0. And nobody needs to memorize revision numbers.
"I've always lived cheaply. I live like a student, basically. And I like that because it means that money is not telling me what to do. I can do what I think is important for me to do. It freed me to do what seemed worth doing." -- Richard Stallman

User avatar
1337
Baron Vladimir Harkonnen
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:59 am

Post by 1337 » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:39 am

Hmm, good coders are definitely not cheap ;)

But I totally agree with the tags. We could also name them with for instance "hud", "trunk", "core3", like the branches in the other repo.

Right now we don't even have branches for the media repository, so we really have to change something there.
I can do something as long as I'm allowed to do so, because that repo is definitely not within my kingdom... :D
http://www.xkcd.com/
A webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests